Easy Chicken Broccoli Pasta

I try and make one meal for everyone. It is hard enough to get dinner on the table…let alone separate meals for the kids. I have been trying to make a meal that everyone likes BUT that can be switched up!

Last night I made this quick, easy meal! The girls loved it, and then I added a few things to my husband’s and mine…it was a hit all around!

Ingredients:

  • 2 cloves of garlic (chopped)
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • olive oil
  • 2 cups of frozen broccoli
  • 1/2 pound pasta (I used cut pasta)
  • Fresh lemon, chopped tomatoes, and grated cheese (Use these as ad ons)

Directions:

  1. Cook pasta according to the directions on the box. Once finished cooking, drain and toss with olive oil and set aside.
  2. Meanwhile saute onion in 2 table spoons of olive oil. Cook on medium heat for 2 – 3 minutes, add chopped garlic and cook for about 1 minute. Add frozen broccoli and put the lid on. Cook for about 5 – 8 minutes (until broccoli is cooked)
  3. I took my broccoli out and cut it into little pieces and then returned it to the pan.
  4. Toss the pasta and the broccoli mixture
  5. Sprinkle with grated cheese and enjoy!
  6. For a more adult meal…once I served the girls, I made a bowl for my husband and myself. Then I took half of a lemon and squeezed the juice on both bowls. Once I finished, I tossed each bowl of pasta. I also cut up tomatoes and roasted them in the broiler (on high for about 8 – 10 mins). I added the tomatoes and some crushed red pepper to our bowls. It was so yummy! The lemon really added a good flavor!
IMG_8899

I love this pasta! Spaghetti that is already cut up…thank you!

IMG_8900

Get florets! Broccoli pieces have a lot of end pieces that are tough or little ones to chew!

IMG_8903

This was the kid version of the pasta before I added to it for me and my husband

IMG_8916

I added lemon, roasted tomatoes, and red pepper flakes to my husband’s and mine! YUMMY!!

Leave a Reply

